Latest News

Stay connected to the latest news about CMF members and our sector.

The DownloadImpact Investing BlogShow me CMF News


The Board of Trustees of the Luella Hannan Memorial Foundation announced that Vincent Tilford has been appointed to serve as its Executive Director.


Youth Advisory Committee (YAC), Youth Action Council (YAC), Youth Advisory Council (YAC)… while the names may differ, one central point we can agree upon: YACs are creating a pipeline for the next generation of social evangelists and change makers critically needed to solve the world’s most pressing issues.


As part of Mental Health Awareness Month, the Ethel and James Flinn Foundation in partnership with the Detroit Wayne Mental Health Authority is proud to present "Opening Minds, Ending Stigma" - a compelling 30-minute TV special airing Saturday, May 23 at 7 p.m. on CBS 62.


Chief Operating Officer and longtime grantmaker Kate Levin Markel assumes leadership role.


Grand Valley State University’s Dean George Grant Jr. announced the appointment of Kyle Caldwell to serve as the new executive director of the Dorothy A. Johnson Center for Philanthropy beginning August 1.


CMF’s 2014-’15 Mentoring Program graduation class gave high marks for the quality of educational lessons and hands-on projects led by experienced philanthropic mentors, foundation leaders and experts.


Shared stories, key topics and great camaraderie were the highlights of this year’s CMF Community Foundations CEO Retreat held in Port Huron.


The Center for Disaster Philanthropy reports on the response to the earthquake in Nepal. Read @ Center for Disaster Philanthropy


CMF’s Green & Blue Network recently held its meeting at MSU Tollgate Education Farm Center in Novi and grantmakers learned about sustainable agricultural programs and place-based environmental education.


CMF’s annual Foundations on the Hill visit was a resounding success, according to the large contingent of members who joined in this year’s trip and the congressional leaders who took time to meet with them.


Grand Valley State University President Thomas J. Haas announced the appointment of Jason Franklin as the first W.K. Kellogg Community Philanthropy Chair at the Dorothy A. Johnson Center for Philanthropy. Franklin will assume the nation’s first endowed chair focused on community philanthropy June 1.


Frey Foundation announces new program staff