COVID-19 Working Group

Back to COVID-19 Resource Central

Michigan Philanthropy COVID-19 Working Group

The COVID-19 pandemic has unearthed new challenges and exposed existing inequities in Michigan and around the nation—in many cases exacerbating established problems that have historically affected underrepresented populations, especially Black, Indigenous and people of color (BIPOC), those living in low-income parts of Michigan (including urban, rural and suburban communities), low-wage workers, people with disabilities and people without documentation. 

The Michigan Philanthropy COVID-19 Working Group is an ad hoc committee of CMF, working in alignment with the Government Relations Public Policy Committee, composed of 25 foundation leaders and partners collaborating to help connect, strengthen and mobilize the Michigan community of philanthropy in advancing a collective responses to the short- and long-term challenges of the pandemic.  

Policy Domains

The Working Group developed the Building an Equitable Future Together policy framework, which serves as a timely, focused and strategic platform to advance the interests and priorities of Michigan philanthropy in the face of multiple crises that Michiganders are facing. The framework is anchored by three policy domains: public health, education and economic prosperity. In alignment with those domains are action-oriented principles to help guide practices and policies now and in the future as we continue to center our work in equity.

View THE COMPLETE Policy Framework

Working Group Members

  • Tonya Allen, The Skillman Foundation
  • John Bebow, Center for Michigan
  • Teri Behrens, Dorothy A. Johnson Center for Philanthropy
  • Carolyn Bloodworth, Consumers Energy Foundation
  • Jim Boyle, Ralph C. Wilson, Jr. Foundation
  • Andrea Cole, Ethel and James Flinn Foundation
  • Terry Gardner, Michigan Health Endowment Fund
  • Robb Gray, W.K. Kellogg Foundation
  • Paul Hillegonds, Michigan Health Endowment Fund (Chair)
  • Amy Hovey, Charles Stewart Mott Foundation
  • Gilda Jacobs, Michigan League for Public Policy
  • Helen Johnson, Michigan Municipal League Foundation
  • DJ Jones, Petoskey-Harbor Springs Area Community Foundation
  • Mike Larson, Michigan Association of United Ways
  • Darin McKeever, William Davidson Foundation
  • Kylee Mitchell-Wells, Ballmer Group, LLC
  • La June Montgomery Tabron, W.K. Kellogg Foundation (Chair)
  • Donna Murray-Brown, Michigan Nonprofit Association
  • Roger Myers, Presbyterian Villages of Michigan
  • Mariam Noland, Community Foundation for Southeast Michigan
  • Kathleen Owsley, Bosch Community Fund
  • Diana Sieger, Grand Rapids Community Foundation
  • Marianne Udow-Phillips, Center for Health & Research Transformation
  • Ridgway White, Charles Stewart Mott Foundation (Chair)
  • Renee Williams, Huntington Bank

Data & Community SourcesResources & Best PracticesMI Philanthropy News & Updates

Upcoming Webinars & CallsRelief & Response Funds in MIState News & Policy Alerts

CMF ResponseShare Your COVID-19 ResponseView COVID-19 Member Share

MI Philanthropy COVID-19 Working Group